Rest

The Lord has put rest on my heart lately.

Rest is okay. Rest is good. Even when my wedding to-do list seems never ending, I can rest. I have to rest.

More importantly I need to rest in the Lord — which I know — but often forget.

I really love Audrey Assad’s song “Restless.”

“And I’m restless, I’m restless, ’til I rest in You, ’til I rest in You.”

-Audrey Assad’s “Restless” (sort of)

Then I found out at our Women’s Retreat last weekend that she totally stole those words from Augustine. Which actually makes it cooler. (Side note: I should have remembered that from what I had to read Augustine for my college honors humanities class buttttttt I didn’t. Also I could have learned that had I watched this video. Who knew she co-wrote with Matt Maher??)

“You stir man to take pleasure in praising you, because you have made us for yourself, and our heart is restless until it rests in you.”

-St. Augustine’s “Confessions”

Holy cow, does that ring true for me. I so often forsake rest with the Lord for productivity, and though I don’t realize it in the moment, it makes me weary.

“Let my pain reveal your glory as my only real rest.”

“Like a bed of rest for my fainting flesh, I am satisfied in you.”

-The Sing Team’s “Satisfied in You”

I could write a million more words on this topic, but really, all I really want to say is that God is the only rest that satisfies my weary soul.

“You’re all that really satisfies.”

-Bryan & Katie Torwalt’s “Lover of your Presence”

(End note: I am dreaming of a large canvas painted with those Audrey Assad lyrics in one of our guest rooms/study/my hobby room in me & Greg’s future home so I can be reminded to take time to rest in the Lord!)

2 thoughts on “Rest

Leave a Reply

