The Verses Project

Today is Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, which means I have the day off from work. Praise the Lord! Even though I’ve only been engaged 10 days, I hit the ground running with wedding planning. You have to when your wedding is less than six months away!

But today I have been trying to be balanced. Although I have been tempted to use today as a mega-planning day, I also feel that today should be a day of rest and sabbath. I’ve only been awake for a few hours, but I spent those hours resting, praying, daydreaming, drinking coffee, and downloading as many Verses Project images as I could.

“What’s Verses Project?” you ask? Let me tell you.

The Verse Project is a free online art project that combines images, typography, music, and scripture to encourage and promote meditation and memorization of God’s word, and it’s sort of wonderful. You can visit their website or sign up for their emails to receive notifications of when they post new content. Each post contains a devotion about the particular scripture; an image with the verse available to download for your phone, tablet, desktop, or to print as a poster; and a link to a short “song” containing the scripture. I say “song” because the music is original work by various artists (many you’ve heard of, such as Robbie Seay, Charlie Hall, Daniel Bashta, Aaron Strumpel, etc.) with just the verse as the lyrics, which promotes memorization and meditation. I’ve been downloading the mobile images for my phone lock screen for months, but now that I have a desktop, I downloaded all the images to a folder that will rotate them through my desktop every few minutes.

I just started listening to the music for the first time today, and I have to say it’s pretty great, too! Mainly I’ve just been a sucker for beautiful lettering and typography. #magazinedesignmajor

Anyway, just thought I would share one of my recent “favorite things” for you to enjoy, too! I hope you have a restful and blessed MLK Day if you have the day off (or even if you don’t)!

One thought on “The Verses Project

Leave a Reply

