Good golly, it’s been a while!

A few weeks ago I met up with one of my college friends and her good high school friend for a little outlet shopping and dinner. The high school friend asked me what I do, and when I told her I was an academic advisor she said, “This is kind of a weird question, but I’ve always wondered: what do you do when you’re not helping students pick classes?”

Ha! Normally I might ask that too, but this semester, that really hasn’t happened. Tomorrow will be the first day in three months that our office has not been completely booked out with student advising appointments. It’s been a crazy semester, and despite the days in October where I sucked on cough drops to make it through seven hours of talking and explaining the same things to 14 different students, I have enjoyed my work and feel blessed to have this job.

But that might explain why I have been absent from blogging the past three months! Not that I would blog instead of meeting with students, but after work, I’m pretty wiped. Plus, my laptop stopped connecting to the internet, and I really don’t like trying to blog on my iPhone. And also I’ve been volunteering with my church as much as I can. Also Greg and I went through some pre-engagement counseling material this semester that was pretty time-consuming. So, yeah, that’s what Fall 2013’s been like. My apologies for not keeping you updated throughout!

To summarize: life is honestly pretty great. There were definitely ups and downs this semester through exhausting weeks at work, hard conversations in pre-engagement counseling, roommate conflicts over my high-energy cat, and working through issues with girls I am discipling, but there were probably just as many great moments — good times of worship with my musical friends, date nights with Greg, lazy Saturday mornings with my roommates and coffee, ridiculous moments of laughter with my homegroup gals, and enjoying the homework-free post-grad life.

I hope to write more in the coming months because I do miss blogging. Likely this will depend on my new computer situation, which I am currently trying to hash out. But rest assured that I am doing well and am definitely looking forward to what 2014 has in store.

2013 has been an extremely full year of transitions: out of grad school and into the working world, out of College Station and into San Marcos, out of Fellowship and Shockwave and into 2.42 and Boogaloo, out of long-distance and into… normal-distance? dating. It’s been an adventure, and I can’t wait for it to continue to more adventures next year! Hopefully I can blog and tell you all about it more regularly. 🙂

Until my next post, Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

