Summer book challenge 2013

Went a little crazy at the Texas State library and checked out 12 books. Oops!

Went a little crazy at the Texas State library and checked out 12 books. Oops!

Funny story. I spend a solid hour typing up a post about my choices for the 2013 Semi-Charmed Summer Book Challenge last week only to have WordPress delete it. -.- So this is my second attempt to flesh out my reading plans for this summer.

Last summer I did not finish or win the challenge, but I made good progress and read a wide variety of books — everything from YA dystopian novels, to sickeningly disgusting memoirs of a “jerk, ass, arrogant, inconsiderate, mindless, Frat-boy, low life, butt faced miscreant,” to gripping recounts of Hurricane Katrina after-math, to so many other types of books.

So here’s what Megan has suggested for this summer!

Rules:

  • The challenge will run from July 1, 2013, to September 30, 2013. No books that are started before 12 a.m. on July 1 or finished after 11:59 p.m. on September 30 will count.
  • No re-reads (unless specifically stated)! I want you to experience new books with this challenge.
  • Each book must be at least 200 pages long. Audiobooks are fine, as long as the print versions meet the page requirements.
  • A book can only be used for one category. If you want to switch the category later, that’s fine, just be sure to account for that in your point total.
  • The highest possible total is 200 points, and the first five people who finish the challenge will win a featured/guest post on Semi-Charmed Kind of Life. Good luck!

The Challenge:

5 points: Freebie! Read any book you’d like, as long as it follows the above rules. 🙂
I will likely wait to pick a book for this category since it’s so open!

5:  Read a book that is less than 150 pages long. (Yes, this is an exception to the general rules! You’re welcome haha.)
Check! That would be Fish! A Remarkable Way to Boost Morale and Improve Results, professional development reading for work.

10: Read a book with a color in the title. Submitted by Erinn of it’s the journey on Twitter.
I checked out Girls In White Dresses from the Texas State University library. I also checked out Gold, but I’ve had GIWD on my “to-read” list longer, so we’ll see what wins out.

10: Read a book that is not the first in its series. (And yes, it must be in a series.)
I’m thinking this will be TTFN, the sequel to TTYL, which you will see I read for another category already.

15: Read a book it seems everyone but you has read! Submitted by Brighton of Dear Brighton on Twitter.
Ooh, so many options!

15: Read a banned book. (For consistency’s sake, the book must be found on one of these lists. See the links in the first paragraph for book lists.)
Check! TTYL, a book about high-schoolers told in IM fashion was a tiny bit risqué, but nothing shocking, at least for this 24-year-old.

20: Read a book written by a celebrity. This can be a memoir or a fiction book published by someone who was already famous by another means (e.g. James Franco). Submitted by Brighton of Dear Brighton on Twitter.
Check! Someday, Someday Maybe by Lauren Graham of “Gilmore Girls” fame. It’s funny, I actually checked this out forgetting this category was even on the list. I just wanted to read her book!  How lucky that it worked out to fulfil a requirement of the challenge.

20: Read a non-fiction book that is not a memoir. It can be pure non-fiction or narrative non-fiction. Submitted by Blair’s Head Band on Twitter.
Currently working on Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking. Love it so far! So much insight into my introverted heart.

20: Read a book that takes place in a state you have never been in. If you have been to all 50 states, choose a book that takes place in a country you have never been in. Also do the latter option if you are not American.
I may switch things around count TTYL for this (set in Georgia, although the setting is not at all essential to the plot) and pick another famously banned book (there are ever so many to choose from), but we’ll see. I also checked out Where’d You Go, Bernadette? (set in Washington), so that could count!

25: Read a book that is at least 400 pages long.
My coworker Bailey told me I must read  A Great and Terrible Beauty, which clocks in at 403 pages. But I also checked out some other chunky books I may attempt! (The Marriage Plot and The Interestings)

25: Read a book with a main character who shares your first name. If you have an uncommon name and really can’t find a book, let me know and we can come up with an alternative. 🙂 Submitted by Erinn of it’s the journey onTwitter.** **Edited to add: I’ve decided to amend this category to allow nicknames of your first name and alternate spellings of your first name. I recognize this category is difficult and I don’t want anyone to give up looking! 🙂
I want to try and stay true to this category and will probably try to read 1st to Die, which stars a Lindsay. There weren’t many “Lindsay” options I could find, but I’d rather be true to the category since I found one than cheat and search for “Lindsey”s.

30: Read a book written by an author who was born in or died in your birth year.**** ****This category was also amended after the original posting when I discovered too many participants were unable to find an author born in their birth year. This website will help you find authors who were born in or died in a specific year.
I’m glad she changed this one because the pickings for authors born in 1989 were sa-limmmm. I’ll have to check out that linked list and find something!

Alright, here we go! I’d say I’m off to a good start having finished three categories and close to finishing another in the span of a week!

2 thoughts on “Summer book challenge 2013

  1. A Great and Terrible Beauty is great! I own the whole series. Also, I’m super interested in that book about introverts.

  2. Awesome! So glad you are participating again. 🙂 Let me know how you like A Great and Terrible Beauty if you end up reading it – I’ve been wanting to read that! Also, congrats on all the books you’ve already finished!! You’re way ahead of me haha.

Leave a Reply

