Welcome to San Marvelous

Hello, oft-neglected blog. Once again, a busy life has kept me from processing through my keyboard the past month’s events. I think it can be summed up in this:

In the span of 11 days, I graduated with my master’s degree; went home to Arlington to celebrate my brother graduating from high school; drove back to College Station, packed up my apartment, and moved to San Marcos; met my new roommates in my new house; unpacked; was a bridesmaid in one of my best friend’s wedding; said goodbye to Greg for the summer; and started a new job.

My parents and I at my master's hooding ceremony

My parents and I at my master’s hooding ceremony

My brother and cousin as little kids. This photo was part of their senior banquet display.

My brother and cousin as little kids. This photo was part of their senior banquet display.

Putting up some decorations in my new room

Putting up some decorations in my new room

One of the only photos of my from Jen & Kyle's wedding... hopefully more will surface soon!

One of the only photos of my from Jen & Kyle’s wedding… hopefully more will surface soon!

Greg & I at Jen & Kyle's rehearsal lunch. He left for Colorado shortly after. :(

Greg & I at Jen & Kyle’s rehearsal lunch. He left for Colorado shortly after. šŸ˜¦

Arch in the UAC overlooking the San Marcos square, the building where I work at Texas State.

Arch in the UAC overlooking the San Marcos square, the building where I work at Texas State.

Whew!

So far I am enjoying the new chapter of my life in San Marcos.

I’ve been on the job a week, and although it’s been a whirlwind of training and “Math 1316 is useless,” and “Just follow the core curriculum,” and prepping for 5000+ freshmen to come through our office this summer, I think I’m going toĀ love it.

My house is adorable and my roommates are great.

Greg’s (my?) church has been so welcoming. I’ve already played with several babies, and been invited to watch movies, play games, and to an Arrested Development Season 4 marathon tonight! I also talked with our pastor about officially coming on as associate volunteer staff, and I’m excited to see that role unfold.

So far, life in San Marvelous has been pretty marvelous! I’m enjoying my three-day weekend and looking forward to finally unpacking/organizingĀ the last few boxes, meeting new friends here, and learning how to live this new full-time job lifestyle sans homework!

2 thoughts on “Welcome to San Marvelous

  1. Lindsay!
    So excited to see that you’re settling in and that you’re doing well! (I especially love the wall display above your bed and the cute wall color!)
    We arrive back in CS from Italy around 9:30 last night, so we’re doing a lot of unpacking too.:) love ya!

Leave a Reply

