Raising my expectations

I used to pray when I was in high school or so that someday God would give me a tall boyfriend. But I had minimal expectations.

“God, I mean, just make him taller than me when we’re barefoot. Like, give me half an inch taller even if I’m just in flats. That’s all I’m asking! 6’1″! Can we make that happen?”

I had these low expectations because, guys, I’m 6 feet tall.

I was told by the photographer that I could not stand next to the bride in this photo, lest it be even more awkward than it already is!

I was told by the photographer that I could not stand next to the bride in this photo, lest it be even more awkward than it already is!

This past week several of my good friends and acquaintances were in Michigan for a ministry conference. This conference hosted people I know from churches across the country: my church from Mizzou, my church at A&M, my future church at Texas State, plus friends from other churches I met at LT 2010 and friends who planted a church in Pittsburgh. It was a collision of my worlds in some ways, which is why I saw these two photos:

Greg & Mazvita

Greg & Mazvita

20130418-141852.jpg

Greg & Amanda

It was funny to see my Mizzou friends excited to meet (or “remeet”) Greg now that we’re dating. But it was also funny to get these pictures because it emphasizes how tall Greg is!

Because compared to me…

484737_4211752307120_1810953395_n

…Greg isn’t that tall.

I mean he’s got six inches on me, but that’s the national average height difference between most couples, according to The Tall Book.

So it just goes to show you that sometimes God gives us more than we could imagine asking for. Or even fathom possible! My 13-to-22-year-old mind would have never have thought myself lucky enough to date someone who is a “normal” amount taller than me. And so together, I think we help one another feel “normal,” which is nice for some freakishly tall people like us.

3 thoughts on “Raising my expectations

Leave a Reply

