Dangit, Grandma

There’s a reason I haven’t blogged much at all this semester. Well, a few reasons, really. Some being…

1. I work 30 hours a week.
2. I’m enrolled in 12 hours of class.
3. I have never had so much reading in my life.
4. This takes up most of my waking hours.
5. And oh yeah, my grandma was prophetic.

Just let that sink in a little and let your mind ponder what I could possibly mean by “my grandma was prophetic.”

Ok. On to the story.

My life this semester is pretty much an endless and relentless  and monotonous cycle of work, class, homework, repeat. Add a dash of catching up with friends here, a sprinkle of homegroup and church activities there, and then, oh yeah… a Guy*. That’s where Grandma’s prophecy comes in.

Now, I am hesitant to write about the Guy, not because our dating is a secret or anything, but because I respect the Guy and don’t necessarily want to blab the details of our relationship all over the internet for everyone to read. But this story was too good not to share, so I hope you don’t mind me sharing it, Guy!

You see, my dear grandmother passed away in April after a long, fulfilling life of raising 10 children, 30+ grandchildren, and last time I counted, though this number might be off, 17 great-grandchildren. She was an amazing lady. So her passing was sad, but not unexpected, and honestly a little relieving. Grandma’s hanging out with Jesus now, and I’m pretty sure she’s laughing to herself because she’s watching me live out her prophecy.

Ok, I’m getting to the prophecy part now, I promise!

The last time I saw my grandma in person, though I spoke with her over the phone before she passed, she told me, and I swear this is word for word her last words to me in person:

“Don’t let any boy mess up your education.”

At this time I found this pretty funny and highly implausible.

“Grandma, I’ve made it 23 years without any boy messing with my education, not to mention 23 years without a guy even letting me know he’s interested in me. I do not think this will be a problem. And even on the off-chance that some guy does come along and wants to take me out, I certainly will not let him mess up my education because I am a strong, independent woman, and I will earn my master’s degree by May and be self-sufficient, so help me!”

Less than four months later, enter the Guy. The highly unexpected and surprising guy. The long distance guy.

Y’all. Dating and getting to know someone really well is time-consuming. Like, a really fun and exciting time-consuming, but time-consuming nonetheless. And then you add a two-hour drive to that time-consuming, and it really starts to add up. Between weekend visits and Skype dates and phone calls, your free time starts to diminish (in a really great way, Guy!)… that free time you were supposed to do your massive amounts of homework and reading for your 12 hours of class.

Oops.

So yeah. I’m pretty behind on my reading right now. And if I’m not careful, Grandma might start haunting Guy to make sure he isn’t “messing up my education.”

But in all reality, he isn’t. My work gets done. I might skim some chapters and skip some not-as-important articles, but it’s getting done, and I’m going to graduate.

And dangit, I’m not gonna lie, it’s pretty fun having a Guy around to “mess up my education.”

So Grandma, I hope you and Jesus are having yourselves a laugh up there in heaven because I did not see this coming, and I kind of feel like Sarah when the angels told her she was going to have a baby. You got me!

*Note: His name is not actually “Guy.” Just trying to keep some internet mystique going!

5 thoughts on “Dangit, Grandma

Leave a Reply

