Pulling a Felicity

So a few weeks I just randomly decided to chop off all my hair. Okay, that’s not entirely true. I mean, I thought about it for several days, but I pretty much decided I would do it when the thought popped into my hair head. Sometimes I can be semi-impulsive.

In general I just tend to chop my hair off, grow is out for 2ish years, and then cut it again. I can tell you exactly when the last few majors haircuts in my life have been because of this trend. (Winter break of my freshman year of college and Thanksgiving break of my senior year of college, in case you were wondering.) So my layers and style had kind of grown out since my last big chop was 19 months ago. I mean, I’ve gotten trims since then, but it was time for a change.

The infamous Felicity hair SNAFU

I wouldn’t say I pulled a Felicity (don’t worry; my hair isn’t that short!), but it’s true that this past spring semester was a pretty rough time, and this summer has kind of marked the end of a difficult season in my life. So how better to commemorate it then with a big hair change?

I also decided to go out on a limb and get my hair cut here in Oregon rather than waiting to go back to Texas. I wanted to give someone other than the stylist who’s cut my hair for 20+ years (crazy right?!) a chance to look me over and give me a new look. I don’t think the stylist ended up doing anything revolutionary (she did what I asked: she took my Pinterest board of prospective cuts and made it work), but I like the end result. I wouldn’t say I’m in love with it or anything, but I’m happy to have some dead ends, length, and weight off my shoulders.

So without further ado…

Before

Lame mirror shot… should have tried MySpace style, obvs!

After

The new do!

 What do you think?

9 thoughts on “Pulling a Felicity

  1. Super cute, Lindsay! I really want to cut my hair, but I’m always afraid to go “too short” because I’m fairly certain I would end up with an afro… I should just do it. Hair grows back. I can’t just go to any old stylist though (for the most part). Curly hair is both easy and hard to cut. Mistakes are easier to “hide”, but to make it look nice (i.e. not an afro), I hear, is somewhat difficult. I really have no idea exactly though. That’s just what my mom said and she’s a former hair stylist (…she refuses to cut my hair though! I want her to do it at least once… but she won’t…though maybe that’s a bad idea; it’s been at least 25 years since she cut anyone’s hair).

    Anyway… yours looks nice!

    Ashley

      • The problem with that is the majority of girls in CStat are college students from other towns. Most of them get their hair cut in said other towns… I’ve been in CS for 5 years and I’ve never gotten my hair cut here. I always go back to Houston. There’s not really a reason to do so though. I don’t have a “regular stylist”. I’m just usually there when I need to/want to get my hair cut. But I’ve been going home less and less… When I am there, it’s for reasons like doctors appointments and holidays…

  2. Looks great!

    I can’t quite explain the spike in page views. People Googling for “cute short haircut”? My number-one post has a drawing of Princess Jasmine and her pet tiger, Rajah; people wind up there through Google Image Search. It’s not even a very good post! What can I say? People love tigers.

Leave a Reply

