Willamette Wednesday: I’m crazy!

This is the first post of a weekly (?… maybe just when I have relevant things to post?) series about Willamette University, the school where I will be doing my internship this summer.

Let me start off by saying that I realize I am a crazy person. I realize I probably put myself through unneeded stress. But that’s just who I am, okay?

Now that that’s out of the way, let’s talk about how I picked Willamette. Let’s go through this whole summer internship process through the numbers:

2: Internship programs I applied through (NODA & ACUHO-I)
8: NODA schools I was allowed to/did apply to
24: ACUHO-I schools I applied to (all you have to do is press the “apply” button, okay?!)
32: Total schools I applied to
16: Schools I applied to that offered me interviews
5: Schools I didn’t apply to that offered me interviews
1: Interview offers I turned down
19: First-round interviews I did (I AM CRAZY.)
1: Second-round interviews I did
3.5: Weeks during which these interviews took place
2: Days during which I received offers
7: Schools that offered me summer positions
1: Schools I ended up choosing!

Here is my updated internship map:

Yellow: Applied
Blue: Interviewed
Purple: Offered
Pink: Accepted

So there you have it. That’s how I got from 30+ schools to 1. You should see my Google spreadsheet. It is insane. Tune in next week for the conclusion of the story and how I picked Willamette!

3 thoughts on “Willamette Wednesday: I’m crazy!

  1. I run the process for a host institution (SMU) and really appreciate how this reminds all of us just how difficult the process is for our candidates. I don’t love the process but I do love our interns.

Leave a Reply

