Where have I been? Where will I be?

Well hello.

It’s been a while. A long while.

My apologies for the silence. It’s been a really long past few 6 weeks or so.

I promise to give you some updates on what I’ve been up to (being sick, going to Ohio, starting my “sophomore year” of grad school, saying “no” to things to try to regain life balance, getting a new job for the fall, watching Star Trek: Voyager, following Mizzou hoops on Twitter, copy editing for Good Women Project, listening to Pixar music, etc.) eventually, but today I just want to focus on one thing that is currently taking up a lot of time in my life: the search for a summer internship.

For those of you who don’t know, I m currently pursuing a master’s degree in student affairs administration. You can read more on the Student Affairs page if you have no idea what I’m talking about. But this summer, I have to go to some other university and get an internship. Luckily for me, there are a few internship programs in place (NODA & ACUHO-I) that make my search easier. In fact, they make it a little too easy…

See, I made a map of all the places I have applied at, interviewed at so far and have been rejected from so far. You’re only allowed to preference 8 schools for NODA, but you’re unlimited for ACUHO-I. I probably went a little overboard on that one, but it’s kind of my last summer to go somewhere crazy and do something new, so I wanted to cast a wide net of opportunities. So this is what it ended up like…

Blue: I have/will interview with them
Yellow: I have applied but haven’t heard anything yet
Red: I have been rejected

So yeah. I’ve spent a few hours each week interviewing with various schools for the summer. I have no idea where I’ll be this summer, but as you can see from the map, I may have a wide variety of choices if schools like me. From Hawaii to Boston, Florida to Oregon, Michigan to Austin…  who knows where I’ll be this summer! But I will keep you posted when I find out. The first day of notification is February 13. Until then, I’m going to practice some more interview questions…

4 thoughts on “Where have I been? Where will I be?

    • Haha, well I actually have been rejected by 2 schools so far; they’re just under other schools in Boston and Hawaii. 🙂 And I have heard great things about that area of California! I need to write a cover letter for them this weekend to finish up the app.

Leave a Reply

