Honey on my lips

(Justin Siebert, this post is for you because it contains reference to a Thrice song.)

Today God really loved on me and my heart with the little things. It started with the arrival of “fall.” I say “fall” because, as my friend Amy asked, “What does fall in Texas even mean?” I’ll tell you that it means I wore a light-weight long-sleeved cardigan and enjoyed the high of 74 and the brisk wind. Fall is my favorite season, and it was definitely a little gift from the Father for me to experience some cooler weather.

But God also blessed me at work today. I like Tuesdays a lot for many reasons. On Tuesday I get to pretend I’m a real person who isn’t in grad school. I don’t have class, and I usually work 8:30 – 4 or 5, depending on the week. I go to staff meeting. I forget that I have classes and midterms to worry about and just focus on my job and my students. I also teach my first-year seminar class on Tuesdays, which is by far my favorite part of my job. But God even went further and totally blessed my 4 p.m. meeting with excitement. Advising is the newest and most challenging aspect of my job, but after advising one of my student leaders today as he planned for lots of events in our organization for the next few weeks, I felt so joyful and excited. I’m actually looking forward to all the extra work that I have to do in the next few weeks!

All that to say that today was better than yesterday, and I attribute that to God’s little gifts to me.

But I also wanted to write tonight about a song that I have recently fallen in love with. Tonight at Discipleship class we talked about the importance of reading and studying the Bible. I really love the Bible and feel that God uses it a lot to speak to me. I love reading the Word and finding a verse or passage that just jumps up at me and says, “THIS IS WHAT I WANT TO TELL YOU TODAY.” Enter Thrice’s “Words in the Water”:

Then with water in my eyes
The words began to rise from their place
They were beautiful and dread
I reached for them and fed on each phrase
They were honey on my lips

I just love the imagery in this song of the words literally rising from the page. I have a really cool picture of it in my head at least. The other cool thing about this song is the conclusion. The song talks about how the book demands really high standards that honestly seem really unreachable… because they are. Romans 3:23 tells us that all have sinned and fallen short of the glory of God. God cannot tolerate sin. But the best part is that the book also tells us how we can meet the demands of holiness because of the sacrifice of Jesus Christ. The next verse, Romans 3:24 & 25 say “and all are justified freely by his grace through the redemption that came by Christ Jesus. God presented Christ as a sacrifice of atonement, through the shedding of his blood—to be received by faith.” How lucky we are! We have been saved!

And when I lost all hope to look
Someone took that heavy book from my hands
All its weight they set aside
After they had satisfied its demands
I felt white and black reverse
And the lifting of a curse from my heart
Then like one receiving sight
I beheld a brilliant light in the dark

LISTEN TO THE SONG; IT’S SUPER GOOD.
READ THE BIBLE; IT’S EVEN BETTER.

One thought on “Honey on my lips

  1. So glad today was better. Satan will use anything to keep you from experiencing the joy of Christ. My fav phrase/verse is “be still and know that I am God”. Sometimes in all the busy-ness of being a Christian, we forget to just be still. Remember Elijah heard God’s voice in the whisper: not the earthquake, fire or roar of the wind. Let Him speak to you in ways that touch YOUR heart, not the ways YOU think it SHOULD touch your heart because it touched your neigbor’s heart that way. Just be still and listen. You will hear Him.

    Love you!

Leave a Reply

