The Divine Experiment

Hello. My name is Lindsay Cochrum, and I am a Facebookaholic.

I spend countless hours each week reviewing people’s status updates, going through my friends’ pictures and occasionally even Facebook stalking new people I meet. Hours a week. Sometimes, after a particularly pointless and time-wasting Facebook sesh, I actually feel really bad about myself, guilty, like I know I just wasted hours doing crap, nothing. There was a point where Facebook was the first thing I went to when I woke up in the morning. I needed my social media fix the moment I woke up.

I think a lot of people probably are like this, but I also know a lot aren’t. Lately I feel like I’ve been able to at least cut out that morning need to check, but I still waste so much of my time each week on that stupid website.

A lot of the time I justify the obsession with my desire to keep in touch with my friends. Most of the people I know don’t live in College Station, thus I use Facebook as a tool to catch up with friends from high school, Mizzou and Colorado. But honestly, that’s not what I spend the majority of my time on Facebook doing. It’s just gotten out of control.

I have known this for quite some time, and honestly have even felt convicted about it—like convicted that I needed to give it up—but I haven’t ever really tried that hard. But for the next three weeks, I’m finally going to do something about it.

Enter the Divine Experiment. The Divine Experiment is a three-week time of corporate fasting and prayer sponsored by several of the campus ministries here at Texas A&M. During this time they encourage students to fast from things together, and they host prayer and worship meetings every day, in the mornings during the week and in the evenings on the weekend. In general they encourage media fasts (internet, TV, movies, etc.) but everyone is encouraged to pray for what they should fast from. Some of my friends have done special food fasts or even lived in a tent for three weeks, fasting from their house and its comforts.

This is what I feel like God is leading me to fast from:

  • Facebook
    Already explained.
  • Twitter
    Along the same lines, though I don’t waste quite as much time on there as I do on Facebook.
  • Non-spiritual blogs
    I read a zillion blogs about design, food, Mormon mommies, typography, crafts, etc. It takes up a lot of time, so I’m cutting it out for three weeks. I will, however, continue to read my close friends’ blogs as they usually encourage me spiritually.
  • TV
    I’m attempting to follow 10 shows this season. So far I have kept up with the past two weeks, but only because I was sick and confined to bed for several days this past week. From now on, watching that many shows is probably not going to be the best use of my time, so I’m adding it to my three-week fast as well.
  • Movies
    I don’t actually spend much of my time watching movies, but we’ll just add it to the media list for good measure.
  • People after 10:30 p.m. Sunday – Wednesday
    I have a problem with FOMO (fear of missing out). And when you live in a house with four other girls, there are always cool conversations going on that I don’t want to miss out on. Unfortunately, this usually leads to way too many late nights and a lot of sleep deprivation. That’s why I am going to start getting ready for bed at 10:30 and be in my bed at 11 p.m. on school nights, aka Sunday – Wednesday. As much as I love talking to my roommates, we can talk when I’m not supposed to be in bed.

That being said, I hope you will pray for me and my homegroup as we go through this time of fasting and prayer. Each week focuses on a different theme: humbling yourself, seeking God’s face and repenting. Also October is going to be a crazy month in general. Not only are we doing the Divine Experiment, but we are also going to IHOP‘s OneThing conference this weekend and ending the three-week fast with our church’s fall Spiritual Challenge Weekend retreat. I’m praying God does a lot of healing, encounters us in new ways, teaches us to hear his voice and draws us closer to him during this time.

I will try to blog for the next three weeks to keep you updated on what God is doing, but as you have noticed, I haven’t been the most consistent blogger as of late. Maybe that will change when I give up all my time-wasters!

“If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and I will forgive their sin and will heal their land.” —2 Chronicles 7:14

2 thoughts on “The Divine Experiment

  1. Linds, this is a very brave thing for you to do and i’m rill proud of you. i feel like 99-100% of facebook users spend too much time on it, so I’m encouraged by you doing this and I think others will be too!

    …am i among the “close friends’ blogs”? :]

    LOL, i remember talking about FOMO. again, i feel ya.

    • Obviously you are among the “close friends”! I commented on your last post. 🙂

      So far the fast hasn’t been as difficult as I imagined it would be, but I also have had no free time to be online anyway. Too much catching up to do from being sick last week plus an abnormally busy work week. I left home at 6:40 a.m. today and will return after my meeting gets out at 9:30 p.m. Then I will sleep. I’m hoping the busyness dies down soon so I can actually spend my new-found free time spending time with Jesus instead of writing papers and reading textbooks. Next week should be better!

Leave a Reply

