I am still alive!

Hooo boy. It’s been a whirlwind two weeks since I last posted. I apologize for the radio silence, but I’ve been trying to get my life in order during the busiest time of the year for me as a proponent of campus ministry and as a future student affairs professional. Here’s a recap of my life (with more detailed posts to come in the following week or two):

My job
Work has been busy but fun. I’ve been transitioning from my summer duties of helping with New Student Conferences and planning Gig ‘Em Week to my school-year duties of advising A&M’s F1:First-Year Photo Project, teaching a First-Year Seminar (FYS) and advising part of the Aggie Orientation Leader Program. Gig ‘Em Week went really well despite the Thursday downpour that left us soaked and mud-stained during the Pizza Taste-Off. My first FYS class also went well. I was very excited to be back in the classroom in front of 20 freshmen. It reminded me a lot of my FIG teaching days, and I’m pumped to get to know my students better as they transition through their first year. F1 is the most intimidating thing in my job description. I’ve never advised a club by myself, so I’m learning on the job while my sophomore executive members are learning on the job how to run a student organization. My students seem stellar though, so I think in the end this, too, will go well.

School
Oh, school. That’s what I’m here for, right? For now, school is okay. I just finished up my first week of class, and the assignments don’t seem impossible; several of them actually sound fairly fun. My main concern is the amount of reading! I know I can handle it, but it’s going to be a lot of work. As much as I hate to admit it, I think my horrendously boring HDFS class from last fall has prepared me for grad school by familiarizing me with APA style. I am also thankful for “Journalism & Democracy,” my capstone from last spring! It was very similarly structured to my classes here in grad school, so I don’t feel like the class format is too foreign. Thanks, Dr. Hinnant!

My church
Getting involved with Smackdown has been a huge encouragement and change in my life. As much as I want to think homegroups here at A&M are the same  as canvas groups at Mizzou, they’re not. They’re structured differently, they meet differently, they’re planned differently. There are some similarities, but there are a lot of differences. This is good and difficult at times. I’m adjusting to the new things, but I’m also excited to bring my experiences at Mizzou to my new family here at A&M. I’ve jumped right into follow-up with nearly 10 girls, which has been discouraging at times, but I’m starting to see some fruit from the perseverance God has given me. If things go the way they seem to be going, Smackdown is gong to be huge this year. It’s exciting but also a little daunting. Discipleship here at A&M is much more intentional and structured than it was at Mizzou. We have a lot of girls to meet up with, and my schedule is already getting full as it is! I cling to the fact that God will provide. He will provide the girls, he will provide the time to meet up with them and he will provide the words they need to hear. It’s a little intimidating seeing the list of things that need to happen this year, but I keep repeating, “I will climb this mountain with my hands wide open.” I’m giving it to you, God, and I know you will make it beautiful!

My house
The Den is, by far, one of the best things about my life here in College Station. It is so incredibly encouraging to live with four other women on fire for God who have caught the vision of our church. It’s been a huge blessing to have roommates who serve one another and pray for each other, who listen to one another and give each other a lot of grace. They’ve made me laugh until I cry, spoken truth over me and celebrate in the small joys I share with them on a day-to-day basis. In short, my living situation is wonderful.

Missing Mizzou
There honestly isn’t too much I legitimately miss about Mizzou, the school, itself. Yes, there are a few things, but I mostly miss the people. I miss my equipping team and my canvas group a lot. It’s been hard to be away from them during what is the busiest time for campus ministries: the start of school. I feel like I should be there following up with them! Fortunately, God gave someone the brilliant idea to create Skype, which has been a blessing for keeping in touch. I’ve gotten to hear about the good and bag things about the start of the year from several of my friends, which I have loved. It’s been beautiful to see how God has grown the younger girls and how he’s using them this fall. I am pumped to see what else God has in store for them!

Life Lessons
God has been teaching me a lot. It really won’t do it justice to elaborate here, but look for future posts about how God has made us so incredible different, how we shouldn’t compare ourselves to one another, how I’m realizing my desperate need for the Lord, how my apathy is often rooted in pride and probably a thousand other things. Needless to say, God is doing work in me!

So there you go. Proof I am alive, learning things, transitioning and adjusting somewhat well. I’m going to try to blog more regularly as a means to keep in touch with my loves far away and as a way for me to continually process my life, as I am realizing more and more that I am a visual learner and processor. I need to write things out. So that’s what I’ll be doing here! In the mean time, God bless!

Leave a Reply

