Is this real life? Is this gonna be forever?

So I have now been in College Station for about a week and a half. It’s been a whirlwind of adjustment, learning new streets in a new city, making new friends, figuring out what my job entails and more. Here are some of the observations I’ve made, things I’ve learned, etc.

• The biggest thing to hit me was that I live here now. I live in College Station. I moved here. For good. Well, somewhat for good. At least two years, but who knows? Maybe more. As I was telling one of the interns in our office, this is the biggest thing that’s happened to me since high school graduation!

• It feels very surreal to be here. It doesn’t feel real. I now live in the same town as some of my friends who I spent the majority of the past year keeping in touch with via Facebook. Now I get to be their friends in real life! It’s awesome but also feels very strange at the same time.

• I feel very neutral about College Station as a city. It feels a lot like Arlington—a lot of chain restaurants, nothing too special or exciting. I don’t dislike it here, but it’s no Columbia, for sure.

• People here kind of drive crazy. They do not hesitate to change lanes literally in the middle of the intersection. I dislike it.

• There is a small chance I could stay here after graduation, but that’s two long years away (even though I know it will go quickly), so I’m not going to concern myself with that. All I know is pretty much everyone in my office went to A&M for their undergrad or grad program.

• I feel at peace about a lot of things that have been irking me over the past year. I feel very calm and have a very whatever-happens-will-happen attitude right now. Let’s hope I can keep it that way.

• I have to make a whole new set of friends. It’s so weird that the first few days here I was like, “Wow, I literally feel comfortable hanging out with four people here. Everyone else I know here is just an acquaintance.” Luckily that has changed even over the past week! I’m getting to know my coworkers and other people from my church, and it’s been fabulous. The first few nights I was really missing my Mizzou friends and thought, “I need a new Amanda Craven!” a lot, but I think it’s going to be fine. (And no one can truly fill Amanda Craven’s shoes.)

• I am creepily stalking LT2011. Like seriously. I read the blogs of people I barely know and made an “LT2011” friends list on Facebook so I could follow exactly what’s going on there. Partly it’s because I miss it, but it’s also because I am SO FREAKING PUMPED for what’s going on there. I’ve Skyped a few of my friends out there, and GOD IS WORKING. It’s awesome.

• I have to drive everywhere now. It kind of sucks because Lucy eats a lot of gas, but walking is just not feasible here like it is at Mizzou.

• It’s hot. Really hot. Like all-I’m-doing-is-sitting-outside-this-froyo-shop-and-I’m-still-sweating hot.

• The A&M is freaking huge. I’m super glad my job take place in a pretty small section of campus, and in the fall I’ll pretty much just be living in one building where my job and classes are. BECAUSE THIS SCHOOL IS HUGE.

• I’m starting to appreciate the campus’ “beauty” a little more. Although it’s no botanic-garden Mizzou, there are a lot of buildings with large windows overlooking campus, and it’s kind of pretty, especially during sunset.

• Speaking on sunsets, the sun sets here at like 9. I can’t remember if it’s like that elsewhere, but I feel like that’s really late.

There are certainly more observations and fun things I could say, but I am very tired from work and have a 13.5-hour day ahead of me tomorrow, so I will stop here for now.

Stay tuned for more about my adjustment to my new Aggie life and a very exciting announcement… (building the suspense!)

One thought on “Is this real life? Is this gonna be forever?

Leave a Reply

