A different kind of tears

There were more tears this Saturday night. But they were different from last week. They weren’t sad.

As I walked the one block down the street from my apartment to Middlebush Auditorium, where I have attended church for the past two years, I reflected on the last-Rock-service-ever I was about to attend. Though I knew it was sad, I didn’t really feel sad. (I was honestly feeling very anxious as my last-week-at-Mizzou to-do list grows longer with each passing minute.)

I made it through the first worship set without moisture, and my final Rock sermon was challenging but light hearted thanks to our dry-humored pastor Ed. But then the second worship set came. My beautiful friend Amanda was leading worship with her co-leader Travis, and together they led us in a mashup of “How Great is Our God” and “Beautiful Things.”

How great is our God
Sing with me
How great is our God
And all will sing how great
How great is our God

You make beautiful things
You make beautiful things out of dust
You make beautiful things
You make beautiful things out of us

I’ve probably sung each of these songs tens, if not hundreds, of times, but the words never rang as true to me as they did last night. I was filled with the Holy Spirit, praising God with all that I could muster, thanking him for the past four years.

I couldn’t help but burst into tears of true, unadulterated joy.

Our God is GREAT. And he has made me BEAUTIFUL. I would love to tell you exactly how he has transformed me, but it’s more than I can possibly share in a blog post. But ask me about it, and I’d love to talk to you. He has taken me from the desert of complacency into the loving arms of the Father. He has transformed me from an apathetic gray blob into a sparkling daughter of the King.

And good news! The waterproof mascara worked like a charm!

7 thoughts on “A different kind of tears

  1. Yes! I have rediscovered the magic of waterproof mascara this week as well!
    I am totally going to visit Rock when I get to Columbia. You speak so highly of it!

    I hope your last week at Mizzou is wonderful!

    • It’s a pretty great church ๐Ÿ™‚ We don’t have a huge population of grad students, but there are a few, and several super seniors to be sure. Plus my canvas group wants to meet you after hearing me tell our wacky story! Right now I’m in the Mark Twain canvas group, but it will be called the Dobbs canvas group in the fall. And church is at 7:07 every Saturday in Middlebush Auditorium!

  2. I started following your blog to get to know you; I have been so blessed by it! ๐Ÿ™‚ And I cannot wait to hear how God has transformed you, along with sharing in a little more of the next journey in your life.
    Love you lady! Whoop for waterproof!

Leave a Reply

