When comes the sun?

To quote The Classic Crime, I’ve heard that winter’s cold will give way to summer’s warmth. But let’s be real: IT DOESN’T SEEM LIKE THAT’S GOING TO HAPPEN ANYTIME SOON.

It’s April 26. What did I wear today? Jeans, a T-shirt and a cardigan. It is currently 57°. FIFTY. SEVEN. DEGREES. Did I mentioned that it is THE END OF APRIL?!

I’m just so conflicted. On the one hand, I’m kind of happy it’s not hot yet considering 1) I’m about to move to hellishly hot Texas and will have enough of that and 2) my apartment doesn’t have air conditioning. Last August here was not the most comfortable of living situations as I stripped off as many clothes as socially acceptable and parked myself in front of my rotating column fan the moment I walked in the door each afternoon.

But at the same time, IT’S THE END OF APRIL. I WANT SPRING. Spring is my favorite season at Mizzou (followed closely by fall), and this year I have been deprived of the full spring experience. Although it finally stopped snowing, we still haven’t consistently been in spring temperatures (70s). We have had two or three days when the temperature reached 80ish, but a cold front immediately came through each time and dropped us back into the lowly, lonely, depressing 50s and 60s.

And the worst part is the lack of sunshine. I miss that glowing orb. All I’ve seen for days and days and weeks  and weeks is GRAY. Sad, dull gray clouds. BE GONE, CLOUDS. I NEED VITAMIN D. I WANT MY NOSE FRECKLES. FOR THE LOVE OF GOD.

I’m just hoping we don’t skip the 70s spring weather altogether. You hear me, Mother Nature? I don’t want to go from 60s to high 80s. I want my temperate weather, especially since I have an honors graduation ceremony on the quad on May 14. Let’s not make it unbearably hot.

All I’m asking for is sunny with a high of 75. Can we manage that? This college senior would really appreciate getting to experience her favorite Mizzou season one last time.

And as I wrote this, the sun began to slowly peek its way out from behind the clouds… Maybe there’s hope after all!

2 thoughts on “When comes the sun?

  1. The A/C at work is limping along, so I had no air in my office today. I have not been that uncomfortably warm in a room for that long since high school (no A/C anywhere there). Can you bottle some of that cool air and pack it with you back to Texas?

Leave a Reply

