The day is coming

My journey through re-watching Gilmore Girls continues with Rory’s high school graduation episode.

“Headmaster Charleston, faculty members, fellow students, family and friends: Welcome. We never thought this day would come. We prayed for its quick delivery, crossed days off our calendars, counted hours, minutes and seconds, and now that it’s here, I’m sorry it is because it means leaving friends who inspire me and teachers who’ve been my mentors, so many people who’ve shaped my life and my fellow students lives impermeably and forever.”

Not gonna lie, I got a little emotional. In 24 days, I’ll be walking across my own stage. I’m so excited but so sad to be leaving. I vacillate daily, hourly even, between being completely consumed with joyous thoughts about moving to A&M and supremely mourning leaving Mizzou. The Alumni Association just posted this teaser video for this fall’s 100th Homecoming celebration. I watched it, and, again, became a little emotional.

I hope I can come back to see the festivities, see my Twainers who are still here and even meet my blog friend. But the thing is, throughout my four years here at Mizzou, I never went home for a weekend. Too much hassle. So I’m not sure what makes me think I’ll be able to make a weekend trip back up here when the distance will be even further (Arlington to Columbia vs. College Station to Columbia)… but who knows! I may miss it just enough to sacrifice 30 hours in the car for one weekend. After all, Mizzou has truly been home for the last four years.

One thought on “The day is coming

  1. “I’m so excited but so sad to be leaving.”
    ^^ I feel exactly the same way!

    I really hope you do come back to visit!

    p.s. I love Gilmore Girls.

Leave a Reply

