True/False Wrap-Up

Well, True/False 2011 is wrapped up! I made it to eight of the films I reserved tickets for and Q’d up for two more; I got my money’s worth! Here’s what I saw, ranked from what I thought was the most enjoyable and downward…

1. Page One: A Year Inside the New York Times
2. Secret Screening White
3. Troll Hunter
4. Bobby Fischer Against the World
5. Zielinski
6. Secret Screening Green
7. Secret Screening Orange
8. Blood in the Mobile
9. The Burger and the King: The Life and Cuisine of Elvis Presley
10. El Bulli: Cooking in Progress

Notes:
I can’t share the links of the secret screenings due to an agreement between the filmmakers and True/False. David Wilson and Paul Sturtz (the festival founders) try really hard to get quality films to come to mid-Missouri, but that sometimes means films will play here before their big, official premier. In order to get them to come, we keep their titles a secret so they can have the big premiers at more famous festivals than our little CoMO darling. But I can tell you guys about the films in person if you want to hear more!

I also must admit I fell asleep in both “Blood in the Mobile” and “El Bulli,” not necessarily because they were boring, but they were more serious and in foreign languages. Plus I hit an early afternoon wall of exhaustion during both those screenings. So I don’t actually feel like I can rank those fairly, to be honest.

One of the best things about this film festival is how accessible the filmmakers and even the film subjects are. I didn’t get to see “The Interrupters,” but I heard several of the ex-gang members from the film were at screenings for Q&As. At my screening of “Page One,” David Carr (New York Times reporter, columnist, and film subject) Skyped in for the Q&A. John Zielinkski, subject of “Zielinski,” was in the lobby after the film selling some of his photography. And when I shook hands with the producer and director of “Secret Screening Orange,” the film I’m writing a paper on for my capstone class, both men gave me their cell phone numbers so I could interview them later. How cool is all that?!

Lastly, I’ll come right out and say it: I enjoy entertaining, light-hearted films more than deep, weighty ones. So sue me. Don’t get me wrong, I think the more serious films are definitely important, and I liked the ones I saw (I didn’t see a single bad film!), but I’d rather watch a mockumentary about troll hunting or a weird biography most of the time.

I’m really glad I got a pass this year, but that being said, I am exhausted! Time for bed!

PS: Most of you probably already heard the good news, but…

I HAVE OFFICIALLY BEEN ACCEPTED TO TEXAS A&M’S STUDENT AFFAIRS ADMINISTRATION IN HIGHER EDUCATION MASTERS PROGRAM! WHOOP!

Be on the lookout for a longer post about that once I get a few more details from my new supervisors in the next few days!

 

2 thoughts on “True/False Wrap-Up

  1. Thanks for the comment! And a HUGE congratulations on the student affairs grad program at Texas A&M!! That’s so great! Student Affairs sounds like an awesome field to go into.

    I’ve never lived (or even been to) Texas, so I’m excited to do something new.

Leave a Reply

