My last first day

*WARNING: This post is probably going to disgustingly cheesy/reminiscent.*

Today is my last first day of college. Crazy.

It’s so incredibly weird to look back at the last three and a half years and see how much I have changed. How many people I’ve met. How many experiences I’ve had. How many things I’ve learned.

The summer after my senior year of high school, my friend Chelsea made me a CD of music all about leaving and starting new adventures for my first drive to Missouri. It’s kind of been a staple in my road trips from then on. I’ve listened to it almost every time I’ve gone anywhere far away in my car, including Saturday’s drive back to Missouri.

So obviously I’ve listened to these songs a lot. But Saturday I found myself tearing up a bit on I-30 heading to Dallas as some of the lyrics hit me. I’m kind of ashamed to admit it because the songs could be considered somewhat cheesy/cliché. For example, the first track on the CD is Kelly Clarkson’s “Breakaway.”

Get on board a fast train
Travel on a jet plane, far away…

And I’ll make a wish, take a chance, make a change…

Buildings with a hundred floors
Swinging ’round revolving doors
Maybe I don’t know where they’ll take me but
Gotta keep moving on, moving on…

I won’t forget all the ones that I loved…

But I won’t forget the place I come from…

The past three/four years have been crazy. I’ve traveled to so many places (St. Louis, Kansas City, Duluth, Minneapolis, St. Paul, Austin, Abilene, Iowa, Chicago, Arkansas, San Diego, College Station, Ohio, Colorado…); I’ve made so many changes in my career path, in my relationship with God, in my outlook on life, on my values; I’ve taken paths knowing idea where they would lead; but I’ve also learned how much I love my family and home.

The other song that got me was Bethany Dillon’s “Move Forward.”

And I have seen
Great things from a distance
They beckon me
I follow them

And I move forward
I move forward
I move forward to home, to home

And I push every hindrance aside

My dreams for the future would have sounded insane to me as an incoming freshman four years ago. You want to go to grad school for what?! But I have seen these great things I could do, the change I could effect on college students, and I want it so bad. And I want A&M so bad. I want home, Texas, so bad.

So I’m moving forward to home. And I will push every hindrance aside to get there, with the help of God, of course.

So let’s do this, Spring 2011. I’m ready for you.

Leave a Reply

