Now how can that be?

I am a John Mayer fan.
Yes, I realize he’s kind of a jerk, but I can’t get enough of his music.
Some of the songs are so-so, but many of the lyrics have really spoken to me over the past few years.

One of his songs from Continuum, “Gravity,” has been one of my favorites for a while because of its imagery of light versus gravity.

It tells the story of men who have let gravity, drugs, alcohol, women, disaster, distract them and bring them down. And John wonders how he escaped these things…

Gravity is working against me
And gravity wants to bring me down

Oh I’ll never know what makes this man
With all the love that his heart can stand
Dream of ways to throw it all away

Oh Gravity is working against me
And gravity wants to bring me down

Oh twice as much ain’t twice as good
And can’t sustain like a one half could
It’s wanting more
That’s gonna send me to my knees

Oh gravity, stay the hell away from me
And gravity has taken better men than me
Now how can that be?

Just keep me where the light is
Just keep me where the light is
Keep you all where the light is
Just keep us where the light is
Ohh.. where the light is

My favorite part is “Gravity has taken better men than me. Now how can that be? Just keep me where the light is.”

I feel like I’ve gotten off so incredibly easy in my life. I’ve faced few obstacles, distractions and disasters in my life. I’m struggled with small things, but nothing self-destructive, never losing myself or doubting my complete worth.

How did I get so lucky?

So many people I admire, better men than me, have been dealt hard hands and struggled with unimaginable things that I have never had to face.

Now how can that be?

I don’t know how I got so lucky, why God has blessed this way, but I do know one thing I want.

Just keep me where the Light is.

“In him was life, and that life was the light of all mankind. The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it.”
John 1:4-5

“When Jesus spoke again to the people, he said, ‘I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.'”
John 8:12

Leave a Reply

