#100: Ohio reflections

I just realized this will be my 100th post on this blog!

Dang, when I started this thing back in January, I didn’t really have a huge plan for it; I just knew I wanted to be open in sharing what God has been doing in my life. I never expected to be so blessed by friends and acquaintances’ comments and encouraging responses to my writings or even the personal reflection this blog has been able to give me. I look forward to sharing my one year anniversary with Lindsay in Progress in about a month!

Meanwhile, it’s my last full day in Ohio. Sitting on Kristen’s futon and watching the snow fall gently outside, I’ve been reflecting back on the past few weeks since Thanksgiving break. Here are some things I’ve been thinking about.

#1. I miss my family.
I mean I’ve always missed my family since I left for school in August of 2007, but in the past 6-ish months I have begun to miss them all the more. I absolutely adore my siblings and love spending time with them; Thanksgiving definitely reminded me of that. I can’t wait to go home and see them in a week! I also wish Blair wasn’t going to school in Arkansas because, God willing, I’ll be back within reasonable driving distance of our home base next year and can actually come home for junior high band concerts or high school graduations. I wish our whole family could be close again.

#2. I don’t have a college best friend.
Don’t get me wrong, I have several incredibly close friends at school without whom I couldn’t survive sometimes, but I don’t have one stand-out “I tell her everything, and she knows everything about me” best friend here. My life has been a weird cycle of new friends every few years. Unlike my sister who has had the same best friends since kindergarten, my core group of friends has changed with the seasons in my life. There were my elementary school friends, then junior high friends, then early high school friends, late high school friends, orchestra high school friends, early college friends, journalism college friends Rock college friends, LT friends… I’m not sure if it’s a bad thing necessarily; it’s just something I’ve noticed.

#3. I am so incredibly excited for LT 2011 regardless of if I get to go or not.
LT 2011 and I have been going back and forth all semester. There are days I just can’t even wait to be back in the mountains, but there are also days that the idea of working housekeeping 40 hours a week for 12 weeks just really turns me off. I’d say I swing back and forth between 95% for sure going to LT and 60% for sure going, but the past few weeks I’ve been more and more excited about it.

I know of at least three to five Twain girls are considering going, and they are what I am most excited about. I want to see them grow in God and develop their leadership skills. I want to watch them lead Life Groups so badly. If I were asked to lead a Life Group again, I would say yes, but with the caveat that if there were a younger girl in my Project who had some leadership potential that they be asked first. I want so badly to be in a Life Group with Sam or Michelle or Katie or Mariah and watch them grow into even more beautiful women of God as they lead.

In the same hand, I think I’d really like to try to lead a Project Group. If I’m not asked, I won’t be upset at all; in fact it would be a good summer or rest before I start the next chapter in my life. But if I were asked, I think it could definitely be an awesome learning experience and challenge for myself this summer.

As for the me possibly not going, I mean it is a possibility. I’m going to apply and get ready as if I were going, but if a get a graduate assistantship that starts during the summer, I’ll be taking that.

Overall, I’m not really worried about any of this; I know God will put me where I need to be this summer, whether that be at school or in Colorado, leading a Life Group or a Project or just relaxing with Him.

#5. Christmas Break is taking FOREVER to get here.
I had a week and a half of class after Thanksgiving where I had maybe two big things. Now I’m in Ohio with another two big things due next week. So that’s like four things spread out ever-so-slowly over three weeks. It’s like home is slowly inching its way toward me, and it’s driving me crazy. I just want to be done and homeward bound. At least I only have one more week of slow agony left!

Lastly, I’d like to ask for some prayers.

  • First of all, I’m a bit worried about my flight back to Missouri tomorrow. It’s supposed to “snow squall,” and I really don’t wat my flight delayed. Also pray for my friends who are driving an hour to Cleveland and back to take me to the airport.
  • Secondly, I have a lot to get done in this next week, namely some SC organization stuff, a magazine editing test, a 10-page paper and two grad school apps. Pray I get this all done so I can GO HOME.
  • Thirdly, prayers for a productive break. I have a lot of things I want to do and accomplish this break, but I’ll need discipline to stay off Facebook and make good use of my time. Pray that I have the desire to accomplish my goals and that I can grow closer to God even when I’m away from my community for four weeks.

Good luck to everyone with finals this week. Safe travels to you all, as well!

Leave a Reply

