When will my break begin?

So last weekend I went out with some of the canvas group girls to see Tangled, the newest Disney princess movie, and I must say I rather enjoyed it. I really liked Mandy Moore’s voice and singing, especially in the first song, “When Will My Life Begin,” about what Rapunzel does all day while she’s in the tower. The song made me laugh because even though Rapunzel is sad she does these same things over and over, it’s exactly what I want my winter break to be!

And so I’ll read a book
Or maybe two or three
I’ll add a few new paintings
To my gallery
I’ll play guitar and knit and cook

Then, after lunch, it’s puzzles, and darts and baking,
papier-mâché, a bit of ballet and chess,
Pottery and ventriloquy, candle-making,
Then I’ll stretch
Maybe sketch
Take a climb
Sew a dress
And I’ll re-read the books
If I have time to spare
I’ll paint the wall some more
I’m sure there’s room somewhere
And then I’ll brush, and brush
And brush, and brush my hair

Now, my break probably won’t be this diverse (I doubt I will do anything with papier-mâché or candles, and I definitely won’t need to brush my hair as much as she does), but I do have a list of things I want to accomplish over my 4-week vacation, the biggest thing being NOT WASTING TIME ON FACEBOOK. I have no work or school obligations, and while I want to get rest and recharge, I have so many other productive things I want to do! I haven’t had a full winter break without ResLife obligations in three years, so I need to take advantage of it! So here’s what I’m thinking for my daily routine:

  • Wake up at the same time every week day. I’m thinking 8:30 or 9 because that isn’t obscenely early, and that’s probably going to be my daily wake-up time next semester.
  • Eat breakfast and read the Life & Arts section of the Star-Telegram.
  • Go for a walk with God. Have quiet time wherever I walk to. The one nice thing about Texas not being super-cold is that I can probably go on a walk in sweats and not freeze to death.
  • Take a shower.
  • Eat lunch. Possibly with the few friends I have in town on occasion or with my little brother at school.
  • Check e-mail/Facebook/Twitter briefly.
  • Interchangeable afternoon activities:
    Read a magazine.
    Read a book.
    Write a letter.
    Talk to someone on the phone.
    Learn to parallel park.
    Write all my memory verses on cards/memorize them.
    Catch up on Dexter/watch any weekly TV shows that have new episodes.
    Bake things.
    Blog.
    Play guitar.
    Play viola.
    Play piano.
    Start making my high school T-shirt quilt.
    Catch up with friends.
  • Make dinner.
  • Eat dinner with my family.
  • Hang out with friends/family.
  • Go to bed at a reasonable time.

These are the goals I have set. Let’s see if I can keep them! Just about a week until I can start!

One thought on “When will my break begin?

Leave a Reply

