Happy Halloween!

Last night I had a wonderful time out with friends at the Cotton House dance party. I had the privilege of dressing up like Ms. Frizzle from The Magic School Bus and hanging out with characters like Edward Scissorhands and Buddy the Elf!

I also got to carve a pumpkin for the first time in my life! It was an ampersand.

I feel than an ampersand is neither glorifying nor dishonoring to the Lord. Yay neutrality!

When I was a kid, my dad was not a huge fan of occult, so we weren’t allowed to do things like play with Ouija boards, go to haunted houses, dress up as scary things for Halloween, read Goosebumps or carve jack-o-lanterns. While this might seem strange to some, it didn’t really have any effect on my childhood and taught me a little about the devil’s role in our world. I’m not saying Halloween is evil, but it’s also not necessarily glorying the Lord to even pretend to talk to the dead through an Ouija board. Anyway, we were still allowed to eat Halloween candy and dress up. In fact, here are mostly all the Halloween costumes I have ever worn:

Buddy the Elf and Ms. Frizzle.Half they time I got "solar-system?" But the other half of the time people guessed the Frizz.

bunny, tiger, ballerina, angel, purple crayon, Pippi Longstocking, cheerleading duck, princess, poodle-skirt girl, safari explorer (my siblings were a giraffe, a zebra and a lion), farmer (my siblings were a bee, a scarecrow and a pumpkin), Ginny Weasley, Ginny Weasley (again), Emma Pillsbury, Ms. Frizzle

My hair is still crimped from last night (kinda looks like Hermione), but it’s also red (like Ginny), so I decided to wear my Gryffindor shirt today since I’m not really doing anything Halloween-y tonight.

Now let’s eat some candy. I just had a bunch for brunch.

3 thoughts on “Happy Halloween!

  1. I don’t think you were ever a bunny. That was Nathaniel. I think you were Mini-Mouse because you loved that Mini-Mouse doll. I think you were Mini-mouse, tiger, clown then all the ones you listed. Love the Miss Frizz costume. Very creative!

  2. I love that your last few costumes have capitalized on your red hair. And, having recently read “Eats, Shoots and Leaves,” I also love your ampersand pumpkin. Great ideas all around!

Leave a Reply

