Friday Grammar Gems with Jen Rowe, Vol. 2

Friday in Grammar lecture we went through more than 50 word pairs that are more frequently misused in the English language, such as principal/principle, fewer/less and persuade/convince. Here are the best quotes from class.

On how “loan” is a noun and “lend” is a verb:
“So if you friend ever says, ‘Can you loan me $5?’ you can just say, ‘No, that’s grammatically impossible.'”

On the difference between “fewer” (for countable items) and “less” (for a singular item):
“It’s fewer kisses and less sex. I had a colleague who used a more graphic act of sex instead of kisses, but I won’t talk about that in class.”

On the difference between “nauseous” (something that looks/will make you sick) and “nauseated” (feeling sick):
“Back in graduate school I dated a guy who told me he learned more about grammar from me than any teacher he had. One time we were hanging out and he just turned green. I asked him what was wrong and he told me he was feeling really nauseous. Now, I didn’t correct him, but as he ran into the bathroom, moments before vomited, he yelled back at me, ‘I mean nauseated!’ I was so proud.”

The video that helps Prof. Rowe remember “further” (more in-depth) vs. “farther” (distance):

On “sight” vs. “cite” vs. “site”:
“And this is when I say for people learning English as a second language, ‘God bless them.'”

On the difference between “hit” (one object moving) and “collided with” (both objects moving):
“Now don’t tell State Farm about this because I think they’ll still cover you with their Collision Insurance even if you hit a light pole or something.”

Oh, how I love the English language!

2 thoughts on “Friday Grammar Gems with Jen Rowe, Vol. 2

  1. Not to argue with your Grammar instructor, but….

    nau·seous
    adj.
    1. Causing nausea.
    2. Affected with nausea.

    The American Heritage® Medical Dictionary Copyright © 2007, 2004 by Houghton Mifflin Company. Published by Houghton Mifflin Company. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

