Breaking my heart

I’ve been trying to figure out how I feel about National Coming Out Day all day.

It’s tough being a Christian in this situation because Christians have handled homosexuality so badly. So, so badly. It really upsets me how badly we have as a whole have handled this.

The recent suicides of gay and lesbian students across the country have been some of the most heart-wrenching and saddening stories I have ever read. The Tyler Clementi story had me in tears last week. I hate knowing that there are people out there feeling so lonely, isolated and unaccepted because of their attractions that they feel the only option is to take their own lives. Every coming out story I have ever heard has broken my heart because almost every coming out story I have heard has featured so much loneliness and depression. It doesn’t have to be that way. It shouldn’t be that way.

As Christians, we are called to be loving and compassionate, not hateful. It’s as simple as that. Someone who struggles with homosexuality is no better nor no worse than anyone else. Romans 3 says so:

“There is no difference, for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God…”

And the good news comes in the following clause:

“…and are justified freely by his grace through the redemption that came by Christ Jesus.”

God saves us, and it’s beautiful.

In light of that, I think my friend Barclay said it perfectly today:

“In honor of National Coming Out Day, I want to say to everyone who feels different, lonely and unaccepted because of their attractions: Only God can give you what you’re looking for because he loves you unconditionally. I’m sorry Christians have made that hard to believe. There is another way! In the words of The Classic Crime, ‘Don’t let them say, “This is the way you are!”‘”

I definitely couldn’t have said it any better.

I know this is a controversial subject, so if you’re interested in talking to me about it more, please ask! I’m still trying to figure things out for myself, but I definitely appreciate good conversation.

One thought on “Breaking my heart

  1. This is the best, and only thing to say.
    It HAUNTS me the way that Christians are looked at by non- heterosexuals and the allies that they have.
    One day Lindsay… one day He will help us to make it right. ❤

Leave a Reply

