What joy! What peace! You make beautiful things.

The retreat is over! What joy! What peace!

Not that the retreat went badly, or even that planning it was a bad experience; it was just another thing on top of my three jobs and classes and other activities.

Don’t get me wrong: I really loved planning the retreat with Jake. I think we did a really good job, and from what I can tell, a lot of people had a really awesome time. I’ve seen a lot of positive status updates and gotten a lot of compliments and “thanks”es, so I’ll chalk up a tally in the win column.

The thing about planning a retreat is that it’s not really a retreat for you. Do I think Jake and I could have done a better job at planning so it could have been more of a retreat for us? Yes. But that’s okay. It was a really great learning experience.

I learned that you should not delegate more than one task per person. I learned that you shouldn’t delegate yourself any one task for the actual event. (Before the event is okay, but it’s better not to be in charge of any one thing.)

I was really distracted this weekend. Worship was honestly completely shot, my mind filled with “What am I going to say in this announcement?” and “Who is going to make that coffee tonight?” and “How exactly is this lettuce-eating contest going to work later?” I couldn’t chill out enough to have a quiet time during the time allotted. I do feel like I got something out of Dave Megill’s talks, but I am really looking forward to them being posted online so I can really listen without distractions.

And that’s why today has been nice.
#1. I caught up on a lot of sleep. On average I’ve been getting to bed sometime between 1-2 and getting up between 7-8. Last night? 12:15 a.m. – 11:45 a.m. GLORIOUS.

#2. I got to chillax. I went to Justin’s, we ate waffles, and finally, after almost a month, watched some Dexter. We’ve got three episodes of season four left!

#3. I got to worship some on my own. Zach Burmaster introduced us to some really awesome songs this weekend, and while my heart wasn’t in it yesterday, I got to dig into the lyrics and learn some more guitar today. It was really good. Here are the songs:

Death in His Grave
“On Friday a thief; On Sunday a King. Laid down in grief, but awoke with keys of Hell on that day. The first-born of the slain, the Man Jesus Christ, laid death in his grave.”

What Joy
“What joy, what joy for those whose trust is in the name of the Lord. What peace, what peace for those whose confidence is in Him alone.”

Christ is Risen
“Christ is risen from the dead, trampling over death by death. Come awake, come awake, come and rise up from the grave.”
“O Death, where is your sting? O Hell, where is your victory? O Church, come stand in the light. Our God is not dead; He’s alive, He’s alive!”

Beautiful Things (Not actually a new song yesterday, but just a newish one I really like.)
All the lyrics are really good.

#4. I got to hang out with my chicas Sam and Breezy. We went to Campus Bar & Grill for delicious $1 burgers and fries. Yum and fun.

So God made the retreat a beautiful thing, and I have much joy and peace now that it is over. You see what  did there?

Here’s to a new month! Hurrah for October!
(And I get to cross another goal off my list!)

One thought on “What joy! What peace! You make beautiful things.

  1. I LOVE Matt Maher! He makes such good music, AND he’s Catholic! (I say that not to put aside my love for awesome Christian bands like Third Day, Casting Crowns, and MercyMe, but to rejoice in having one of “my own” out there, so to speak.)

Leave a Reply

