I want to yearn, even faint

So one morning last week while I was getting ready for class, a song from Enter the Worship Circle’s Chair and Microphone, Vol. 3 came one my iTunes. It’s called “Home,” and it was stuck in my head all day.

You can listen to it here.

The lyrics are based on Psalm 84 and go like this:

My soul yearns, even faints,
for the love of a Father who won’t leave
’cause He yearns, even faints,
for the love of a child like me.

He calls me His son,
and He shakes my young soul.
To His home I will run.

Yes, His home is my goal
’cause it’s better that way.
Life’s a burden alone.
Just give me one day
in my Father’s warm home.

I am dancing into His house.
I can’t help but
swing wide these doors.

As I was thinking about this song, I realized that this is a huge prayer I have for myself.

Lately I’ve been having a lot of difficulty being really consistent about my time with God. Some weeks I do it every day, and some weeks my scheduled-in blocks of God time get shoved aside for homework. Sometimes I just plain don’t want to have quiet time. It happens.

The thing is, I shouldn’t be having quiet times just to check it off my daily to-do list. I should want to spend time with God. I want to yearn, even faint, to spend time with my glorious Father.

So this is my prayer: the God ignites this passion to seek Him and spend time with Him, just as he yearns and faints for the love of a child like me.

“My soul yearns, even faints, for the courts of the LORD; my heart and my flesh cry out for the living God.”
—Psalm 84: 2

4 thoughts on “I want to yearn, even faint

  1. We’re going over Psalm 84 this week in CG, and I knew this song from LT, so googled “my soul yearns, even faints” just to see what would come up, and it was your blog! How amazing is that! I can definitely relate to your prayer here…wanting delight in Him and everything about Him…to the point of being almost faint. Looks like He’s still teaching me stuff through you even after your gone! Love you 🙂

Leave a Reply

