Wake me up when September ends

Two weeks left until this month is over.

Normally I don’t count down months or small things like that, but this month is different.

My life has been a little bit of a mess lately.
I’ve got outreach to do for The Rock. Grad schools to research. Classes to go to. Homework. A fall retreat to plan. The GRE to study for. FIGs and PAs to supervise. Friends at Mizzou to hang out with. Friends far away to keep in touch with.

This means many a night (read: pretty much every night since the second week of school) I crawl into bed past 2 a.m. I could probably get it closer to 12 or 1 if I didn’t insist on winding down after a 9-5 work/class schedule or hanging out with any friends ever. But that probably won’t happen. The winding down and friends keep me sane.

But, hark! Come October 1st, many of these burdens shall be lifted.
The GRE will be over in 12 days, 20 hours and 50 minutes. (12 days, 20 hours and 24 minutes as I proofread this.)
The retreat will be over (not that I’m looking forward to it being over, just having the planning over) on October 2.
My SC collateral of Fresh Films will be done at the beginning of October.
There’s a chance my weekly PA check-ins will become bi-weekly check-ins within the next 2-4 weeks as well.
Also the first round of tests and papers shall be behind me.

So for now I’m putting my head down and powering through, thriving on 5-6 hours of sleep a night and drinking Swiss Miss Sensible Sweets Pick-Me-Up hot chocolate like it’s the elixir of life. (I don’t own a coffee maker.)

Leave a Reply

