Insert Fall 2010 slogan here

A cheesy inspirational poster about goals for your viewing pleasure

Over the past year or so, I have been setting goals to accomplish  for each semester.

Sometimes I meet them, and other times I don’t. (I got the SC position for this fall but wasn’t chosen to be a Summer Welcome Leader.)

Sometimes I try to meet them and other times I don’t. (I tried to journal every day last semester, but I didn’t try at all to take the stairs all the time)

But whether I try and fail or just plain fail, I don’t let it get me down. God has taught me a lot through these “failures,” and I don’t regret a single one. He’s also blessed me with many successes, and I know they are not by my doing, but by His  doing through me.

Usually my friend from high school also sets a slogan for the semester. In semester’s past we’ve had “Spring ’09: Time to shine” and “Spring 2010: Better than it’s ever been.” I can’t for the life of me remember the others, but maybe she’ll let me in on what Fall 2010’s slogan is.

I also usually find a theme song for each semester. Last spring’s was The Rocket Summer’s Light. This summer’s was John Denver’s Rocky Mountain High. I’ve been thinking for a week or so, and I really think this fall’s will be The Stand by Hillsong United. The chorus has been really impactful for me this summer, and I hope to remember the words daily this fall:

“And I’ll stand with arms high and heart abandoned in awe of the one who gave it all. I’ll stand my soul, Lord, to you surrendered. All I am is yours.”

Regardless, here are some of my goals for Fall 2010.

1. Score competitively on the GRE.
2. Prayerfully apply to four grad schools.
3. Prayerfully plan, direct and delegate tasks for the fall retreat with Jake Wiig.
4. Remember the sabbath (Saturday) and keep it holy. Spend extended time with God. Read books. Get off Facebook. Do things I enjoy. Rest.
5. Spend time with God daily, whether it be by reading the Bible, praying, journaling or in worship.
6. Reread the entire New Testament in The Message.
7. Visit College Station at least once. (Tentative and most likely dates: sometime between November 19 and 24)
8. Visit Angela at ACU and see her new house. (Most likely at the end of Christmas break.)
9. Visit my sister and Caleb at Harding at least once. (Some weekend?)
10. Become good friends with my former hall coordinator Laura.
11. Be discipled. (By Peggy?)
12. Develop strong friendships with Christian girls at The Rock! (Amanda, Hannah, Alexis, Peggy, Kaitlyn…)
13. Make all A’s. (I won’t be upset by a B, but I really think all A’s is very doable this semester.)
14. Save 40% of my paycheck.
15. Tithe 10% of my paycheck.
16. Read three books outside of class.
17. Spend 2-4 hours a week in McDavid and Mark Twain.
18. Ask someone why they don’t believe in God.
19. Pursue God as the lover of my soul.
20. Maintain relationships with my good friends outside of The Rock.
21. Get some of them who are interested involved in The Rock.
22. Believe that God has a plan for my future and my family.
23. Be intentional about talking about what God has been doing in my life.
24. Meet at least one new person in each of my classes.
25. Pray about coming back to LT, and if I feel God leading me back, apply as early as possible so I can work in the craft shop! Or should I take David up on crew leading…?

I plan to do a check-in or two over the course of the semester to see how these are going. I also encourage you to keep me accountable and ask how they’re going!

Leave a Reply

