I’m joining Letter-Writers Anonymous

Hi, my name is Lindsay Cochrum, and I am a stationery addict.

I like to write letters, notes, cards. I like to tell people what they mean to me. I like to be able to think about what I want to say, and then say it elegantly. In writing.

My thoughts can be organized, and I can think of the best words to describe why I like someone or what they’ve done in my life. I can thank them for what they’ve done for me. I can encourage them. Or it might just be a casual letter to a friend far away over the summer. The letter might tell them about what I’ve been up to or about a TV episode that reminded me of them.

When I was a freshman, I had a lot of free time on my hands and made cards all the time. Mostly birthday cards, but the summer after my freshman year, I had so much free time that I just started making cards and writing people random letters, just to pass the time.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I think it’s a pretty good way to spend your free time. Who doesn’t love mail? I mean, junk mail sucks, but a letter? A real, snail mail letter? Everyone loves getting those. And I like making people smile. So I write them letters. Because I like to write and keep in touch with my friends. This might be my own, special little love language, letter-writing.

The whole reason I even felt compelled to write this blog post is because I spent probably a little too much money on two journals and two sets of cards at Longs Peak Coffee and Paper today. I just can’t help it! Almost every time I go home, I make a beeline for the stationery section at my local Half Price Books. Luckily most of their stationery is really cheap. Longs Peak’s stuff wasn’t too terribly bad, but I found some gender neutral cards, which I like to buy for when I write cards to my guy friends. I figure they appreciate it more than a card with flowers all over it. Just trying to be considerate.

Anyway, when I got back to my dorm room, I decided to see how many cards I actually had because I brought my entire stationery collection with me to Colorado. Here is the photographic evidence. (The photo quality is kind of crappy because it’s easier for me to take a picture with my phone and send it to my laptop via Bluetooth than to take pictures with my real camera and connect it to my computer and all that jazz. You get the gist of my collection.)

Now, while at first I was really into writing in blank cards, I started wanting to write longer letters, so I got into legit paper stationery. I bought all of this specifically to write people in Colorado.

I probably need to stop until I use all of this, but the compulsion to buy a cute box of cards when I see it is pretty dang strong.

Like I said: I’m a letter-writing, stationery-buying addict.

One thought on “I’m joining Letter-Writers Anonymous

  1. I’m with you…I’m a letter-writing junkie, too. Great post and always great to hear that someone shares this passion. Letter writing is so genuine and sincere. I’d urge you to check out The Things Unsaid Project (www.thingsunsaidproject.wordpress.com). A co-worker just sent me to it the other day and I love how the creators insist on handwritten letters sent by the postal service and not e-mails or texts (so easy to hit that delete button). May the art of letter writing never die!

    Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

