The kind of running I can get behind

Ever since I was little, I have hated running.

I’ve never been good at it. In third grade, I quit soccer because there was too much running. I played goalie and did not understand why I had to run as much at the forwards during practice. All I had to do was sit in the goal box! In junior high I found out during cross-country season that I have a herniated disc in my back. I ran cross-country mostly because I wanted to discipline myself (but also because I wanted to please the coaches and I played all the other sports offered…), but found out that year that running cross-country was actually really bad for me. My feet would fall asleep after running more than a mile on uneven surfaces because one of the discs between my vertebrae would squirt gel onto in spinal cord. Ick.

But recently I’ve discovered a kind of running I can get into: running toward Christ.


“Into marvelous light I’m running.”

Through reading Crazy Love, listening to Drage talk about Philippians 3 and listening to some good music, I realize that my passionate focus on God will only thrive while I am actively running towards him, zealous to know him more.

“We are on a never-ending downward escalator. In order to grow, we have to turn around and sprint up the escalator, putting up with perturbed looks from everyone else who is gradually moving downward. I believe that mush of the American churchgoing population, while not specifically swimming downstream, is slowly floating away from Christ. It isn’t a conscious choice, but it is nonetheless happening because little in their lives propels them toward Christ.”
Crazy Love by Francis Chan, pg. 95

If you have a spare 45 minutes, I would highly encourage you listen to this LT talk by John Drage from last week. (If you don’t have a spare 45 minutes, make a spare 45 minutes; it’s that good.) It’s over Philippians 3 and talks about living passionately focused on God. It was an amazing lesson, and I’ve taken it sincerely to heart.

“By now you’ve probably realized that you have a distinct choice to make: just let life happen, which is tantamount to serving God your leftovers, or actively running toward Christ.”
Crazy Love by Francis Chan, pg. 113

This won’t be easy for me. Like I said before, I don’t like running. Even metaphoric running. It require work. It requires us to get off our butts and do something. It requires us to pursue something, put energy into something, care about something. But because I realize what God has offered me, I will gladly get up and run toward Him.

“I’m not saying that I have this all together, that I have it made. But I am well on my way, reaching out for Christ, who has so wondrously reached out for me. Friends, don’t get me wrong: By no means do I count myself an expert in all of this, but I’ve got my eye on the goal, where God is beckoning us onward—to Jesus.

I’m off and running, and I’m not turning back.”

—Philippians 3:12-14, The Message

Leave a Reply

