The reading list

Another misconception I had about LT is that I would have hours of abundant time to read. While I have had some time to read, I definitely have not had abundant free time to read. Plus I’m trying to read the entire New Testament this summer, so, sadly (not sad that I’m reading through the New Testament, just that I don’t have more time to read in general), I probably won’t make it through all the books I brought to read, which are as follows:

1. Irresistible Revolution by Shane Claiborne
2. Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers
3. TrueFaced by Bill Thrall, Bruce McNicol and John Lynch
4. Crazy Love by Francis Chan
5. What’s So Amazing About Grace by Philip Yancey
6. The Complete C.S. Lewis Signature Classics by C.S. Lewis

a. Mere Christianity
b. The Screwtape Letters
c. The Great Divorce
d. The Problem of Pain
e. Miracles
f. The Grief Observed
g. The Abolition of Man

7. Coffee Shop Conversations by Dale and Jonalyn Fincher
8. Generation Me by Jean M. Twenge
9. Confessions by St. Augustine
10. On Christian Liberty by Martin Luther
11. Story by Steven James

3 thoughts on “The reading list

  1. I just saw this post (google alerts!) so forgive the tardiness and possible irrelevance of this comment.

    If you read Coffee Shop Conversations, you’ll learn in the first section how to have better conversations with others, especially non-Christians… the middle section will give you very helpful tools to read the Scripture, especially as you read through the NT, and the third section will help you better understand the culture we live in so that our conversations are more fruitful… I think you’d like all of that…

    HOWEVER, I first recommend something else. I know this is working against me as I’m a big believer in Coffee Shop Conversations, as the author. Yet, I recommend, C. S. Lewis, Mere Christianity, Screwtape Letters, and the Great Divorce before all the others on the list. Lewis will help you think more “Christianly” giving you a bigger view of life, joy, and God than any others on your list… at least that’s what I’ve found to be true. He’s a better writers than the others on the list and, because he wrote in the first half of the 20th century, his writing style is a bit different than modern writers (modern writing has become diluted and dumbed-down, especially in Christian writing)… anyway, Lewis will make you smarter and if you let him sink in, more filled with Joy.

    That’s my $.02! 🙂

Leave a Reply

