We’ve kind of got a good thing going for us here

Ever had ice cream so good you just had to let some one try it to see how good it was? Yeah, Jesus is kind of like that.

So apparently at LT one of the big things they teach you here is how to share your faith.
I wasn’t really aware of that until I got here.
Slash I just didn’t really thing about it ahead of time, like many things I’m discovering about LT.
Like how I’m probably just as busy here as I am at school.
Weird, right?

But back to evangelizing. When I realized I would be taught and somewhat expected to share my faith here, I freaked out a little bit. I’ve never been comfortable doing that. Ask my youth minister who really tried to get me to go to a evangelizing retreat in junior high that I vehemently decline to go to.

But in the past week and a half, some of my fears have dissipated. Key word being some. The idea still frightens me, but after being taught some practical steps and learning about the ideas behind sharing your faith, I feel slightly better. God has been showing me His desire for me to share my faith with others in the passages and books I’ve been reading.

For example, yesterday God stilled my fears by showing me that even though John the Baptist regularly told King Herod he was in the wrong for marrying his brother’s wife, Herod was still interested in hearing John’s good news:

“For John had been saying to Herod, “It is not lawful for you to have your brother’s wife.” So Herodias nursed a grudge against John and wanted to kill him. But she was not able to, because Herod feared John and protected him, knowing him to be a righteous and holy man. When Herod heard John, he was greatly puzzled; yet he liked to listen to him.”

—Mark 6:17-20

I now have confidence that my friends may still like to listen to me talk about my faith, even if it puzzles them.

I also particularly liked this line from our Everyday Commandment curriculum:

“In other words, evangelism is not something you go out and do. The effective evangelism God uses is a result of an overflowing heart of someone hotly pursuing the Lord.”

So that’s my goal for the summer: Begin a habit of pursuing the Lord so hotly that the joy and truth of my faith can’t help but outpour from every ounce of my being.

Lastly, I came across this verse today that really stirred my heart (in Philemon of all places!)

“I pray that you may be active in sharing your faith, so that you will have a full understanding of every good thing we have in Christ.”

—Philemon 1:6

Isn’t that such an awesome way to think about it? The more I share my faith, the more I realize what a good thing we have in Christ.

Heck, “good thing?” More like the most unbelievably cool thing we could ever even dream of having. Why wouldn’t I want to share that with someone else??

Leave a Reply

