Relapse.

There are certain people you just keep coming back to.

There’s someone I’ve been missing. I think that they could be the better half of me. They’re in the wrong place, so I say “Come home.” Come home because I’ve been waiting for you for so long. Right now there’s a war between the vanities, but all I see is you and me. The fight for you is all I’ve ever known. So come home.

It always comes around back to you. I tried to forget you, I tried to stay away, but it’s too late. I’m never over you. Something about you, it’s just the way you move, the way you move me. Forgive me, love, I can’t turn and walk away. I’ll leave the light on. I’ll never give up on you. Leave the light on for me, too.

Tell me why you’re so hard to forget. I’m not over it. Tell me why I can’t seem to face the truth. I’m a little too not over you. What’s wrong with my heart? Shake it off. Let it go. Didn’t think it’d be this hard. Should be strong, moving on, but I see you. Sometimes I try to hide what I feel inside.

We’re the best of friends, and we share our secrets. You know everything that is on my mind. I’m so afraid to make that first move. Just a touch and we could cross the line.

I remember the night you said, “Lets go for a ride.” I didn’t want the night to end. Would we be more than friends? In black and white I read the screen, all your lines and in-between. Then your message on the phone I save to hear when I’m alone.

If we were a movie, you’d be the right guy, and I’d be the best friend that you fall in love with.

Tell me you know. You figured me out. Something gave it away. It would be such a beautiful moment to see the look on your face, to know that I know that you know now. That’s a case of my wishful thinking. You know nothing. All I really want to do is love you, a kind much closer than friends use, but I still can’t say it after all we’ve been through. And all I really want from you is to feel me as the feeling inside keeps building, and I will find a way to you if it kills me. How long can I go on like this, wishing to kiss you, before I rightly explode? This double life I lead isn’t healthy for me. In fact, it makes me nervous. If I get caught I could be risking it all. If I should be so bold, I’d ask you to hold my heart in your hand. I’d tell you from the start how I’ve longed to be your girl.

But I can’t spell it out for you. No, it’s never going to be that simple. If you just realize what I just realized, then we’d be perfect for each other and would never find another. We’d never have to wonder if we missed out on each other now.

I don’t want you thinking I’m unhappy. What is closer to the truth is that if I lived ‘till I was 102, I just don’t think I’ll ever get over you. Your face it dances, and it haunts me. Your laughter’s still ringing in my ears. I still find pieces of your presence here, even after all these years.

Because I swear it’s you that I’ve waited for. I swear it’s you that my heart beats for, and it’s not gong to stop. You take this hand, you take this heart, steal my bones from 1000 miles apart.

All this time I was waiting for you. We got all these words, can’t waste them on another. So I’m straight in a straight line running back to you.

Leave a Reply

