You make me move, Jesus.

I have been rather remiss in my blogging! Hopefully I can get back in the habit.

It’s been a crazy past few weeks. Lots of hanging out, lots of tests and papers, some pain, some awkward moments, and some really great ones.

Junior year is flying by impossibly fast. I can’t believe we have just over a week until spring break, and after that, only a few weeks until finals. While I’m terrified of my college experience slipping by before I even notice, I am ecstatic for some of the things in my future.

Last night I drove to Kansas City and back for a Preview MU event that was pretty much meh, but I enjoyed a lovely view of the mid-Missouri sky through the window as I rode back with my fellow J-School Ambassadors. I am so completely ready to be up in the mountains of Colorado, away from Columbia and school, just hanging out with God.

My floor partner pointed out to me today that this summer will be the longest time I’ve been away from Columbia since I came to school. I hadn’t even considered that, but I was shocked once I realized it. Columbia really has become my home. I haven’t been away for more than three weeks at a time since the summer of 2007. Crazy.

Unrelated but moving on, tonight in canvas group we talked a little bit about messy love, and this verse from Genesis and the story of Joseph struck me. Here, Joseph is talking to his brothers in Egypt and has revealed that he is the brother they sold into slavery so many years ago:

“So then, it was not you who sent me here, but God.”
–Genesis 45:8a

I just think it’s totally awesome that Joseph saw that God used his brothers’ terrible deed to bring him where he needed to be. God uses people to move us. Love it.

We also looked at this verse, which I love and already had highlighted in my Bible:

“Praise be to the God and the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all out troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God.”
–II Corinthians 1:3-4

You all know one of my favorite phrases is “me, too,” and I feel like this verse really applies to that idea. What I love even more, though, is the reminder that we should be comforting others not just with our love or our past experiences, but with God’s love. I feel like people tend to tell me things and go to me for comfort because I was blessed with spiritual gifts like exhortation and strengths like empathy, and I am now reminded that I should be speaking the truth of God to those who are in need of comfort. I should be sharing how God has comforted me, and I look forward to doing that the next time someone comes to me.

Anyway, just thought I’d update a bit. Love you all.

Two days until my 21st birthday and eight days until spring break. Time is flying!

One thought on “You make me move, Jesus.

  1. Lendsea!! i forgot it was your birthday! oh goodness…. happy 21st though. seriously, i wish i could be there to celebrate it with you, but i hope it’s fabulous

    And I agree with you, you do have spiritual strengths like empathy. Yah, college is going by super fast. Be sure to savor it. Love you dear! I wish you the happiest bday =)

Leave a Reply

