Is it worth it?

“You are worthless.”

It’s another junk tape.
Good grief! When will they end?! Why does Satan torment us in so many ways?

It absolutely, positively breaks my heart to talk to people who don’t know their own self-worth. People who aren’t confident in their abilities. People who need others to affirm them. It’s heart wrenching.

People let us down. You can’t deny it. Even the people we think will always be there for us falter and fail us. Parents, friends, siblings, significant others: they’re human. They can’t help it. They are fallible.

I have known so many girls who put all of their self-worth in the hands of a boy, who inevitably throws that worth away and leaves the girl feeling worthless, used, ugly and unlovable. It’s one of the world’s greatest injustices.

Boys have never showed any interest in me, which is probably why I haven’t resorted to putting my worth in their hands. I couldn’t. I would be completely worthless.

I had to find another source of worth, a permanent and infallible source. I’m not saying I’m perfect or even good at this, but I find so much hope in the value God gives us.

Why are you looking for love?
Why are you still searching as if I’m not enough?
To where will you go, child?
Tell me where will you run.
To where will you run?
And I’ll be by your side wherever you fall,
in the dead of night, whenever you call,
and please don’t fight these hands that are holding you.
My hands are holding you

The summer after my senior year of high school I went to Kadesh. The theme that year was Identity, and during that week I made a commitment to be identified through Christ. The world may call me plain, too tall, too awkward, unlovable, but Christ calls me daughter. He values me completely, more than any human ever could.

And that’s where I find my solace, in knowing that all that matters is his opinion, and he loves me regardless of the stupid things I inevitably do.

I could go more in-depth, but I think I’ll just leave with some verses that were underlined in my Bible. Some of them were noted “Identity” to remind myself of their place in my week at Kadesh and others I have just read and taken to heart during my own readings. Regardless, I hope they bring you hope and remind you of your God-given worth, which can sustain you throughout life.

“In all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”
Romans 8:37-39

“Am I now trying to win the approval of men, or of God? Or am I trying to please men? If I were still trying to please men, I would not be a servant of Christ.”
–Galatians 1:10

“Since, then, you have been raised with Christ, set your hearts on things above, where Christ is seated at the right hand of God. Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things. For you died, and your life is now hidden with Christ in God. When Christ, who is your life, appears, then you will also appear with him in glory.”
–Colossians 3:1-4

“How great is the love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God! And that is what we are!”
–1 John 3:1

Leave a Reply

