Spark Notes Theology

So I did something today that I do not normally do.
I started writing a paper that was due at 11am at 9 am. Yikes.

I had never done this before, and to top it off, I hadn’t even read the book for the paper.

Luckily for me, I bought a used copy of St. Augstine’s Confessions, which was heavily underlined, at Half Price Books back home. This allowed me to skim the assigned reading to find quotes that fit my hastily picked theme.

But that’s not really the point of this post. The point is that I am genuinely sorry that I didn’t do the assigned reading. Just skimming over important passages had me hooked on this Medieval bishop’s confessions, praises and frank conversation with God.

I hope I can find time to finish Confessions, not only because I’ll probably need to know the material for my final exam, but also because Augustine had some pretty awesome things to say.

And with that, I will leave you some of the quotes I found on my brief glance at St. Augustine.

“My sin consisted in this, that I sought pleasure, sublimity, and truth not in God but in his creatures, in myself and other created beings.”

“When one considers the men proposed to me as models for my imitation, it is no wonder that in this way I was swept alone by vanities and traveled right away from you, my God.”

“The delight of eternity draws us upwards and the pleasure of temporal good holds us down.”

“What is more pitiable than a wretch without pity for himself who weeps over the death of Dido dying for the love of Aeneas, but not weeping over himself dying for his lack of love for you, my God…”

“But this same father did not care what character before you I was developing, or how chaste I was so long as I possessed a cultured tongue—though my culture really meant a desert uncultivated by you, God.”

Just some thoughts to ponder. I love that his words, written in the 4th century, can still apply to my life today.

One thought on “Spark Notes Theology

  1. I did a research paper on Augustine! He’s pretty much my best friend. Let me know what you want to know about him and his thoughts!

Leave a Reply

